March 2016 Birchbox

Birchbox is my longest running sub box to date. It’s only $10 a month and you get five samples with the option to choose one of them. They had an awesome points reward program for reviewing samples but that will change in July despite much backlash from customers. You will now only be able to get $5 in points for reviews for the whole year, in addition to purchases and friend referrals. Obviously I’m not happy about it, but I understand the company may not be making money and I will stick it out through the remainder of my subscription and reevaluate in December. I still enjoy getting Birchbox even though I may not love all the samples each month.

FullSizeRender-10

I love the colorful box design this month!

FullSizeRender-11

FullSizeRender-13

Wilmas Schumann Skincare Hydrating Collagen Eye Pads – I’ve never heard of this brand before. These are supposed to eliminate puffiness, fine lines and wrinkles. They are gel pads with 100% collagen. You leave them on for 20 minutes. I haven’t tried them yet…can’t say I’ve very excited to.

the Balm Cosmetics Staniac – in Beauty Queen. I’m not excited about this either because I have tried it before and didn’t love it, prefer the Tony Moly version previously reviewed, and I prefer lipstick! In my stash it goes though. It says you could use it on cheeks but I never would.

FullSizeRender-12

FHI Brands Hot Sauce Thermal Activated Leave In Treatment – Another brand I’ve never heard of and a sort of blah product. This reminds me of the CHI treatment that was so popular back in high school. It is supposed to be very lightweight, not made with silicones, have jojoba oils crystals, detangles and smooths hair. I would prefer a spray but I will still use this.

trestique Color & Smudge Shadow Crayon – I would have preferred any other color than this forest green. It is just not vey wearable. The crayon itself is fine but I won’t be using it.

FullSizeRender-14

Amkia Perk Up Dry Shampoo – This is the saving grace in an otherwise forgettable box. It was also my sample choice. I LOVE this dry shampoo (as you’ve probably read a few times).  It smells amazing, does not leave residue, gives a little volume, and soaks up oils. The packaging is also so fun and colorful that I like to look at it. I’ll try to save it of an upcoming trip but it may not last that long. It moisturizes, repairs split ends, strengthens, and enhances shine. I want more!!! If this came in every box I would not be sad. The sad part is it’s pricey.

As you can tell this wasn’t the best box for me but the dry shampoo (worth the cost of the box) made up for it.

In other news I just finished reading The Daughter by Jane Chemist  and it was a great summer mystery and easy read. I’ve also read Me before You by Jojo Moyes and seen the movie too. The movie was great and very true to the book (aka really sad). I’m still loving my guilty pleasure The Bachelorette and will be excited when Bachelor in Paradise starts up too. My husband and I just moved into a new house in Garland about a week ago and I love having more storage and a garage. Hopefully once we get things more set up I’ll post some pics on social media. Also if you didn’t see on social media we recently got back from a trip to Europe too! It has been a big year for us. Finding Dory comes out this weekend and I am very excited to see it.

I hope you’re all having a fun summer!

One thought on “March 2016 Birchbox

Leave a Reply

