October Birchbox

Birchbox for October teamed up with the Estee Lauder companies to donate money to breast cancer research which I think is awesome! The philanthropy for my sorority, Zeta Tau Alpha, is breast cancer education and awareness so I am really proud of Birchbox for stepping up. I also love the marbled pink design of this box – so pretty.

IMG_2705

IMG_2706

This was the first time that they did not list each item on the product card. Instead they said go online to learn more about your products. This was something I (and a lot of other subscribers I bet) didn’t like. Not everyone goes online the same time they are opening their box for more info.

IMG_2711

Number 4 Fluoro5 Elixir Restore & Repair Oil – Compared to other oils I have used such as Beauty Protector, Davines, and Caudalie this one felt like it only went one the surface of my hair and did not sink in. It felt a little thin to me and it did control frizz but overall I did not like it as much as other brands.

Dr. Jart BB Bounce Beauty Balm Moist – I really like this brand and this is an interesting way to use BB cream. The color was a little dark for me but I used it up anyway. You push the little makeup sponge that was included onto the mesh part and that is how the makeup is dispensed. It seemed a little messy to me, but I like how the makeup felt on my skin. It has SPF 30 which I love, but only comes in two shades and is $48. I will not be buying this but I did get another Dr. Jart product recently (more to come in another post).

IMG_2712

IMG_2713

Macadamia Professional Style Extend Dry Shampoo – I have used a version of Macadamia’s Dry shampoo before and found it oily. I’m not sure if that was a bad batch or if this is a completely new version but I like this one much more. It is much more “dry” and you can see the white powder a little bit before rubbing in. The smell is nice, sort of like coconuts. It sucks up oil and adds a little volume. I love dry shampoo!

Stila Huge Extreme Lash Mascara – Every subscriber got mascara this month (it was the sample choice). I chose to be surprised and I am happy with what I got because I have already tried a few of the ones they were offering, but not this one! It has gotten really good reviews but I have not used it yet (mascara overload).

IMG_2714

Avene Thermal Spring Water – This is the only product I was a little disappointed about. It’s just water…in a can. It says you can use it as a primer or for touchups throughout the day. I’ve tried it and it just wasn’t exciting.

Overall this was an alright box for me. I liked the dry shampoo and mascara most. There were some nice sized samples and a good range of brands. Next month Birchbox is debuting their own (much advertised) makeup brand LOC (Love of Color). Stay tuned to see what I got.

Leave a Reply

