Makeup with Nancy Salcedo

Hi everyone! I have exciting news…this is my first collaboration! I have known Nancy for years because she is the little sis of my friend Tess. Nancy went to a makeup school in California and I haven’t gotten to see her skills in action yet and I know we both LOVE makeup so I thought hmmm let’s get together!

I’ve had this MAKE palette since I bought the Birchbox Limited Edition Vanity Affair Box back in November (it’s still available here) or you can buy the exclusive to BB palette here on it’s own. I also peppered her with questions about makeup application in general and what products she uses. I got the full works from her and it looked amazing!

Makeup Edit 4

Makeup Edit 5

Makeup Edit 2

My top is from Anthropologie and is still available – Glimmered Tee in copper by Bordeaux. It comes in five colors, three of which we carry in our store at Northpark. It’s the perfect tee to dress up or down and I love the swingy shape. My necklace is available exclusively from Rocksbox – Laurel necklace by Perry Street. It’s a very different and fun statement necklace. Rocksbox is $19 a month and you get three fun jewelry pieces at a time to try out, then you send it back for another box! If you sign up use code ZARABFF5 to get your first month free – totally worth it!

Makeup Edit 3

First Nancy put on foundation using a brush – she used Revlon Colorstay liquid foundation in the lightest shade and Make Up Forever High Definition Foundation in a slightly darker shade to get the perfect color match. I asked her if using a primer was important and she said not for everyday, but could be good for special occasions.

Makeup Edit 6

Next she buffed everything out and mattified using this Revlon Nearly Naked powder in 010 fair. I was happy to see her using so many drug store finds – I can easily pick these up next time I’m grocery shopping.

Makeup Edit 7

Makeup Edit 8

Contouring is something I thought was difficult but Nancy made it really easy using this palette by Kat Von D. She used the light brown shade in the middle of the top row in the hollows of my cheeks from my ear to mid cheek, and up near my temples. The key is to BLEND so it looks natural and adds a touch of warmth. I could also use my normal Smashbox bronzer instead.

Makeup Edit 9

After applying a little blush to my cheeks she used this MAC Mineralize Skinfinish Hilighter which I actually already owned in the color Lightscapade. Put some on the top of your cheek bones and on the bridge of your nose for a nice glow.

Makeup Edit 10

Makeup Edit 11

Now on to the good stuff – using this awesome eyeshadow palette! Nancy used some of the foundation as an eye primer. She said to always use an eye primer to set everything. First she put the tan shimmery color on the left side called Bentonite Clay as a base color all over my lid. Next she used the dark gray in the bottom right corner called Cast Iron using a fluffy eyeshadow brush to to put it in my crease. Then she used the crazy dark blue on the right called Midnight also on my outer crease. The key again is to BLEND! She went back in with the gray and tan until it was perfectly blended. The light cream shadow in the upper left corner is called Alabaster is is very glittery – this was applied to my lid. This look was great for a night out!

Makeup Edit 12

Time for some liner – Nancy used Maybelline Eyestudio Color Tattoo 24 hour black gel liner. She used a small liner brush to apply this right above my lashes.

Makeup Edit 13

To boost up the drama and plump up my lashes Nancy applied these individual lashes by Ardell that you can get at CVS or other drug stores. I love the way these made my eyes look – they really opened them up. Nancy says she likes these more than strip lashes because they look more natural. Then she put another coat of mascara on to make them pop – she likes Loreal’s Voluminous Original. For my eyebrows she used a little powder to add color and then I introduced her to my favorite product Benefit’s Gimme Brow. It’s a tinted gel that adds color and holds the shape.

Makeup Edit 14

On my lips we chose a natural pink to offset my bold eye look. She used a pink Obsessive Compulsive Cosmetics Lip Tar and then layered a Revlon gloss over it for a subtle shimmer. For the finishing touch Nancy applied a makeup setting spray, and ta da my look was complete!

Makeup Edit 15

Nancy does makeup for weddings, senior pictures, date night or whatever event you might need her for. I highly recommend her if you are in the Dallas area! Contact her at nancysalcedomakeup@gmail.com and follow her Instagram nancysalcedomakeup for fun makeup looks. She also does amazing Youtube vidoes – check them out! I hope you enjoyed my first collaboration – thanks so much for reading!

2 thoughts on “Makeup with Nancy Salcedo

Leave a Reply

