Jouer Le Matchbox 1

Jouer Le Matchbox is a new subscription service from the French inspired makeup brand Jouer. Jouer is available on Birchbox so I had sampled a few of their products before and many more are on my wishlist! Their packaging and colors are gorgeous so I thought I would give it a go. It is $45 quarterly. Also you can pick warm or cool shades to complement your skin tone. This is a review of the cool box.

photo 1-73

Right off the back the packaging is beautiful – light pink and gold box with a satin ribbon tie.

photo 2-72

First look inside – they include a small magazine highlighting all the products included and how to use this. This is much prettier than the typical product card so props to them!

photo 3-67

All products came in light pink boxes but I took them out for pictures.

photo 3-66

Travel Eyelash Curler – I don’t see this on the website, but it’s a nice addition. Personally I don’t curl my eyelashes much so this will be swapped.

Mini Perfume Oil Rollerball – This is a very floral and pretty scent of gardenia, honeysuckle and jasmine. I’m not used to a scent in an oil but I find it stays pretty well throughout the day. Sometimes it’s hard to get the oil out but I feel like a rollerball is smart. Glad I got to try this one.

photo 4-59

Daily Repair Treatment Oil – This product alone is worth more than the whole box! I don’t usually use face oils because my face is oily in the first place! This product sounds like a good one though: An advanced complexion oil formulated with Revinage™,a bioretinol complex that mimics the positive effects of a Retinol, without the harsh side effects. Rose Hip Oil delivers antioxidant protection, while Starflower Oil quenches and helps to rejuvenate the skin, providing optimal hydration benefits. The result is skin that appears smoother, firmer, and more resilient. I’ve used it several times and it has barely any scent and feels nice.

photo 5-51

Hydrating Lipstick in Whitney – I LOVE lipstick and this shade is gorgeous! Such a fun pop of pink. This formula is really moisturizing too – made with Brazil’s Cupuaçu Butter. This made me think it might not stay on well, but I was wrong! This lippie is a winner!

Creme Eyeshadow Crayon in Abstract – This is a very soft creamy shadow with a built in sharpener so it could work as a liner as well. This is a black that has a nice shimmer to it and would be good for a smoky eye (which I never do).

photo 1-74

Here they are swatched – the lipstick looks light but don’t be fooled!

photo 2-73

Mineral Powder Blush in Peony – WOW that’s PINK! How fun though. It matches really well with the lipstick. It reminds me of a blush I bought from Birchbox a while back – Stila Custom Color Blush. Both are a very cool vibrant pink. You gotta be careful about how much you put on!

Flat Kabuki Brush – I’m happy they included a brush as I don’t have a kabuki one yet. The bristles are very soft.

photo 4-60

Here’s the look I created using all the products! That pink lipstick is a favorite of mine now! What do you think of this box? Would you order one?

One thought on “Jouer Le Matchbox 1

Leave a Reply

