November Birchbox

The theme for November’s Birchbox was Giving. So they teamed up with RED to donate proceeds to fighting AIDS whenever you shared a picture of your box shipper on social media. I think it’s a great concept and something they should do every month. They should let subscribers vote on their favorite causes and then partner with one each month to raise money. In terms of samples this box was in the middle of the pack for me.

photo 1-30

photo 2-29

Great…more Harvey Prince. I think this brand is exclusive to Birchbox so I have gotten many of their products: perfume, body wash, hand lotion, and now shampoo and conditioner. A lot of people are gaga over the scent Hello; I am not one of those people. It’s very sweet and kind of gives me a headache. I like the scent Ageless much better. I was not impressed with their formulation of body wash so I do not have high hopes for these. They will be swapped.

I also got the Eslor Firming Collagen Day Cream – I’m only 23 so I feel like I don’t really need this yet. Also jar packaging is just not good for products – it quickly deteriorates the ingredients once exposed to air. I like my day moisturizer to have SPF too. The full size is $85 which I would NEVER spend on a face cream. Might let me mom have this one or swap it.

photo 3-27

I was excited to try this Cindy-Lou Manizer hilighter by the Balm. It’s a beautiful pinky powder that you can put anywhere for a subtle glow – I used it as an eyeshadow. As usual the packaging on this is adorable!

Yay for an extra chocolate treat by Vosges! This is dark chocolate with a blood orange caramel center – and it was delicious! The orange flavor really came through. This would make a great Christmas gift.

photo 4-23

I have always wanted to get an eye makeup remover and here it is! This Floral Water remover by Klorane is fantastic. It smells amazing, is paraben free, is soothing and gets the job done. I will probably order more in the future. It’s a great travel size too! So it’s not the best month for me because I’m trading away three samples but hopefully next month will be great because it is my anniversary month. I really hope they put in a surprise for me!

My sample choice for November was conspicuously missing so I emailed them about it and they said it was shipping separately. It actually came in an order I placed from Birchbox for a Christmas gift. Here’s what I got along with my mystery sample pack from the order.

photo 5-21

 My sample choice was the Royal Apothic Cuppa Cuppa Tea Firming Tea Treatment Mask. What a fun name, right? I’m a pretty big fan of tea and masks so I decided to try it out. Royal Apothic is also a pretty great brand that I’ve seen sold at Anthropologie. It is infused with three different types of tea along with other antioxidant ingredients to firm, smooth and brighten skin in 8 minutes. I just used it and is is a pretty thin consistency and a fun purpleish color. It also smells amazing – sort of like tea! When putting it on it felt a little gritty because it is also supposed to exfoliate. I could feel it tingling a little bit like it was working. To get it off you are supposed to wet hands and massage into skin then wash off. This really helped to exfoliate. Afterwards my skin feels smoother and more moisturized. I like it! There are several uses in the little tube if you just use it on your face.

I have been dying to try the amika Perk Up Dry Shampoo for a while now, hoping each month that it would come in my Birchbox. It never has so I resorted to adding it on to my gift order to test it out. It gets rave reviews for it’s great scent and I can see why now! It is deliciously floral and lasts most of the day. It leaves no residue and soaks up oil well. I can’t wait to try other products from this brand – this packaging is amazing! There are several holiday gift sets in the Birchbox shop right now.

In my mystery sample pack I got a fun coral Color Club nail polish and a tiny foil packet of 100% Pure’s Body Cream.

For December we got to pick a sample and I went with the Vasanti Kajal Extreme Intense Eye Pencil in Rose Gold. I hope the color shows up, because I always like to try a fun eye color. I just got a notification that my box has shipped so I should get it soon!

One thought on “November Birchbox

Leave a Reply

