September Birchbox

So last month I didn’t pick a sample and I wasn’t so thrilled – I traded most things but really should have traded everything. This month was much better and I’m keeping everything! Here’s what I got. Just a reminder that Birchbox is only $10 a month – I highly recommend it for their great points system and their large selection of brands. It is also easy to gift a subscription of 3, 6, or 12 months.

photo 1-17

This month marks their four year anniversary so they sent out one of three special box designs – I love the colors and pattern!

photo 2-16

As always it comes with a card detailing this months theme and the products listed on the back.

photo 3-15

A colorful bunch with great sample sizes!

photo 1-20

Macadamia Professional Healing Oil Spray – This product alone is worth more than the cost of the box – $14.50! This was the sample I got to pick and I’m so glad I did. It’s a brand that is new to me but now I have noticed that they also sell it at the JCPenney Salons (I work in their corporate office so I get a discount!). This has Omega 7 fatty acids and Macadamia and argan oils to give softness and frizz free shine. It also provides UV protection which is great for my fine and color treated hair. It has a super interesting smell which I really like. Kind of woodsy – and the scent really lasts. I have been using this a lot since I got it and it really does make my hair soft. A total win.

photo 4-13

Real Chemistry Luminous 3-Minute Peel – I saw this product a couple months back in a video when they introduced this on Birchbox and thought it looked super cool. I hadn’t gotten it in my box yet so I swapped for it a few weeks back and then just as luck would have it, it shows up in my box now. That’s OK – I gifted the extra to my mom. So I tried this out and I like it. You put it on a clean face, let it sit for about 20 seconds, then massage it off for about 2-3 minutes. It didn’t sting at all, and I could feel little balls of dead skin coming off. Not a ton came off but maybe that’s because I use several exfoliating products already. Anyway it’s a fun product but I would never spend $48 on the full size version.

photo 5-14

Chapstick Dual Ended Hydration Lock Moisturize and Renew – This is a Birchbox Find – something extra that doesn’t replace one of your samples. I actually got another Chapstick product back in December and haven’t used it up yet – I would rather use lipstick or gloss! So I’m considering gifting it to a friend who might use it more. It is cool that it’s double ended with different formulas though.

photo 2-19

Harvey Prince Ageless Liquid Loofah – So this is a little shower gel that says it can exfoliate without a loofah – I tried it and I had to use a ton to get it to lather and cover my body. Next time I used a loofah and it performed a little better. I don’t love it as an actual body wash but the scent is great – pink grapefruit, mango and sandal wood. Even my husband commented that it smelled good! I could always save up for the Ageless perfume with my points.

Temptu S/B Hilighter – This champagne colored liquid hilighter has a beautiful pink shimmer. I don’t usually use a hilighter so I used this as an eyeshadow a couple of times and it is a great neutral color. This product is applied apart from their Temptu airbrush pod system that looks pretty cool actually.

photo 3-17

Acure Organics Day Cream – This was a surprise hit for me. First of all it’s a generous sample more than half the full size worth about $10.85. Second it smells AMAZING – like orange spice tea. It wakes me up and makes me feel happy in the morning. It melts into my skin immediatley to help firm my skin and fight off free radicals. Liz Cadman from My Subscription Addiction really likes this brand because they are made without parabens, sulfates, petrochemicals and animal by products and with some cool technology in there too. Lots of other people liked this product too because it is currently sold out on the Birchbox website. The only drawback is that there is no SPF in this product or in any other Acure product I looked at. I noticed in other customer reviews that they were disappointed this didn’t have SPF either. It’s a day cream – of course we need SPF! If they put it in then the product would be perfect!

For October I was able to pick a sample again and I chose Mayy Beauty High-Shine Liquid Lipstick in Petal to the Metal – it’s worth $20!

Mally Beauty High-Shine Liquid Lipstick Pens - blossom

I also added on a Birchbox Plus item – the Loren Hope Lilac Mini Cuff.

What did you get for September or pick for October?

One thought on “September Birchbox

Leave a Reply

