August Birchbox

So I’ve been putting off this blog because this month was kind of disappointing. So each month Birchbox lets you preview the products you’re getting in your box. This is what I was getting in my box. I was really excited to try all the products except The Balm Stainiac.

photo 2

So let’s see what I really got in my box.

photo 4-4

photo 5-4

photo 1-3

So obviously this is not the box that was in my preview and I was VERY disappointed. I emailed Birchbox and they just said this sometimes happens and she loaded the correct box onto my account so I could review the products I actually got. I had already started reviewing some products from the fake box so that is the only plus – I got 20 extra points from reviewing.

photo 1-4

photo 2-3

Neil George Shampoo and Conditioner – These were the only products that I was sort of excited about and I have already used them and they aren’t that great. The shampoo doesn’t lather that well – I will not be buying the full size of these. The sample size is pretty generous though.

photo 3-3

Shiseido Ultimune Power Infusing Concentrate –  This product can be used morning and night before serum and moisturizer to ward against dryness, again, and UV rays. I’m not sure why this product is necessary, and I looked at Paula’s Choice review on Beautypedia and it did not get good reviews so clearly I didn’t want to use it. I was able to swap it.

Dr. Jart+ Dis-a-Pore Beauty Balm – This is a tinted balm but only comes in one color(???) and is supposed to tighten and hide pores. It also did not get good reviews from Paula so I swapped it too!

Benefit They’re Real! Push-Up Liner – I already got a free sample of this from Sephora and it is actually larger than this sample. I liked it ok but not enough to keep this sample – I am trying to swap it. I found that this liner stays on way too well, and is kind of glumpy going on.

photo 3-4

So this was the redeeming item of August for me – my Birchbox plus Chole + Isabel necklace. I think it is gorgeous and it is a special design just for Birchbox. This was an extra add on at an extra cost to me, but I think it was totally worth it! So for September you get to pick one of your sample choices, so today I chose the Macadamia Natural Oil Healing Oil Spray. The other choices were the Shiseido Ultimune Power Infusing Concentrate, Davines Oi Conditioner, or the Liz Earle Cleanse and Polish Starter Set. I have received all those products before so this oil was a natural choice – and I have been really enjoying hair oils lately. I almost picked the Davines though just because I loved the shampoo set I got in a previous Birchbox! You could also have picked the Fashionista box that has a set group of samples. What did you pick for this month?

Macadamia™ Natural Oil Healing Oil Spray

One thought on “August Birchbox

Leave a Reply

